Next Wave Impact | Where Latinos Get Funding
1460
page-template-default,page,page-id-1460,woocommerce-no-js,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,columns-4,qode-theme-ver-17.1,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.5,vc_responsive
 

Where Latinos Get Funding

 An online resource for Latino business owners that provides an overview of the different kinds of financing, a list of capital providers, especially those that are focused on funding Latino entrepreneurs, and other resources to support Latino companies in raising funds.

 

An Initiative of the Aspen Institute’s Forum on Latino Business Growth; Hosted by Next Wave Impact

 

 (This is a work in progress. Please send resources to include to info@nextwaveimpact.com)

 

For some Latino business owners, a lack of knowledge about the various sources of available financing may be preventing them from accessing the capital they need to scale. The goal of this initiative is to create an interactive, online business support site where Latino entrepreneurs can access objective, aggregated information about capital options and providers (debt, equity, and alternatives) and assess which choices are the best fit for the size and stage of their company. We hope this resource will make it easier to identify possible funding sources.

 

Company Categories by Target Revenue Size (not current revenue):

. . . $1 million to $3 million in revenue        = Rabbit

. . . $3 million to $10 million in revenue      = Zebra

. . . $10 million to $100 million in revenue = Gazelle

. . . $100 million to $1 billion or more in revenue  = Unicorn

 

Debt:

Financial Institutions:

  • Large Commercial Banks
  • Small Commercial Banks
  • Credit Unions
  • Community Development Financial Institutions (CDFIs)
  • Small Business Administration Loans (7a program,SBIC Program)

 

Online Lenders:

 

Camino Financial https://www.caminofinancial.com/
OnDeck https://www.ondeck.com/
Prosper www.prosper.com
Lending Club www.lendingclub.com
Kabbage www.kabbage.com

 

Specialized Debt Funds:

 

iFund Women https://ifundwomen.com/
Kiva US https://www.kiva.org/borrow
SheEO https://sheeo.world/
Small Business Community Capital https://www.sbccfund.com/

 

 

Equity

 

Angel Investors

Astia www.astia.com
Golden Seeds https://goldenseeds.com/
Pipeline Angels www.pipelineangels.com
Social Venture Circle https://www.svcimpact.org

 

Venture Capital Funds

 

500 Startups https://500.co/
AmplifyHer Ventures https://www.amplifyherventures.com/
Backstage Capital https://backstagecapital.com/
Belle Capital USA http://bellevc.com/
Candide Group https://candidegroup.com/
Chingona Ventures https://chingona.ventures/
Chloe Capital https://chloecapital.com/
Comcast Ventures Catalyst Fund cvcatalyst.com
Cross Culture Ventures http://crossculturevc.com/
DiverseCity Ventures https://www.diversecityv.com/
Equal Ventures https://www.equal.vc/
Estancia Capital Management www.estanciapartners.com
Florida Funders https://www.floridafunders.com/
Harlem Capital http://harlem.capital/
HCP & Company http://hcpcompany.com/#intro
ICV Partners www.icvpartners.com
Illumen Capital www.illumencapital.com
Impact America Fund http://impactamericafund.com/
Intel Capital Diversity Fund http://www.intelcapital.com/advantage/diversity-fund.html
JumpStart Focus Fund https://www.jumpstartinc.org/funder/jumpstart-focus-fund/
Kapor Capital https://www.kaporcapital.com/
Las Olas Venture Capital https://www.lasolasvc.com/
LDR Ventures https://ldrventures.com/
Lightship Capital https://www.lightship.capital/
Meridian Management Group https://mmgcapitalgroup.com/
MultiPass Ventures https://www.multipassapp.com/
NCT Ventures www.nctventures.com
New Voices Fund https://newvoicesfund.com/
NewAge Capital http://www.newage.vc/
NewSpring Capital https://newspringcapital.com/about
Next Wave Impact https://www.nextwaveimpact.com
Omidyar Network http://www.omidyar.com/
Portfolia https://www.portfolia.co/
Precursor Ventures https://precursorvc.com
ReignVC https://www.reignvc.com/
Reinventure Capital https://reinventurecapital.com/
Rubenstein Partners https://www.rubensteinpartners.com/
Serena Ventures https://www.serenaventures.com/
SIRIS Capital Group https://siris.com/
Sogal Foundation https://www.iamsogal.com/
Surge Private Equity www.surgepe.com
TinySeed https://tinyseed.com/
Valor Ventures https://valor.vc/
Vamos Ventures www.vamosventures.com
VilCap Investments https://www.vilcapinvestments.com/

 

Private Equity Firms

Small Business Community Capital:  https://www.sbccfund.com/

 

 

Alternatives:

 

Revenue Based Financing

 

Earnest Capital https://earnestcapital.com/
Indie VC https://www.indie.vc/
Lighter Capital https://www.lightercapital.com/
Founders First Capital Partners https://foundersfirstcapitalpartners.com/

 

Accelerators

 

Hillman Accelerator https://hill7.org/
Upstart https://upstartlab.org/
digitalundivided (DID) https://www.digitalundivided.com/
Camelback Ventures http://www.camelbackventures.com
E Para Todos https://eforall.org/es/

The Guayacán Venture Accelerator (GVA) is the only executive development program offered in Puerto Rico designed to rapidly propel the growth of existing companies.

 

Advising/Education/Mentoring:

Black & Brown Founders https://blackandbrownfounders.com/
Suazo Center https://suazocenter.org/
VC Include https://www.vcinclude.com/

 

Other non-dilutive funding:

 

Rewards Based Crowdfunding:

www.kickstarter.com

www.indiegogo.com

 

 

Grants:

SBIR

 

Press Releases:

https://newsroom.paypal-corp.com/2020-06-11-PayPal-Announces-530-Million-Commitment-to-Support-Black-Businesses-Strengthen-Minority-Communities-and-Fight-Economic-Inequality

https://nielsen-foundation.org/2020/06/16/nielsen-foundation-contributes-1-million-to-support-black-owned-small-businesses/

 

Other Resources: